LGA Administration: 15 governors under scrutiny over constitutional breach

At least 15 governors are in breach of Section 7 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended, our findings have shown.

They include Benue, Kwara, Cross River, Anambra, Akwa Ibom, Abia, Kogi, Osun, Plateau, Imo, Ondo, Bayelsa, Yobe, Bauchi and Sokoto states.

Section 7 of the Constitution aptly provides that “The system of local government by democratically elected local government councils is under this Constitution guaranteed; and accordingly, the government of every state shall, subject to Section 8 of this Constitution, ensure their existence under a Law which provides for the establishment, structure, composition, finance and functions of such councils.”

Our findings show that at the moment, no fewer than 14 governors obtained approvals from their respective state Houses of Assembly and constituted caretaker committees in place of elected chairmen.

Late last year, the Senate asked the Federal Government to block statutory allocations to any local government council not democratically elected.

The Red Chamber unanimously resolved that this move would deter the dictatorial tendencies of state governors.

The resolution was sequel to a motion moved by Sen. Abba Moro on the urgent need to halt the erosion of democracy vis-a-vis the dissolution of elected councils in Benue State.

The lawmakers argued that the placement of Caretaker Committees to replace Elected Councils is an aberration, undemocratic and a breach of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What do you think?

887 Points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Charles Daisi

Story MakerVideo Maker

Aftermath of Supreme Court judgements: Nigerians call for Electoral Act reform ahead 2027 polls

ECOWAS: Nigeria lost African brothers because of Western friends – Shehu Sani