Jonathan, Emefiele out of presidential race after failing to submit forms

Former President Goodluck Jonathan and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria Godwin Emefiele are effectively out of the 2023 presidential race as the nomination and expression of interest forms of the All progressives Congress procured for them by different groups were not submitted before the deadline,

The aspirations of the two individuals have attracted intense controversy but our correspondent learnt that they seem to have now abandoned the ambition due largely to the situation within the ruling party.

Jonathan was said to have grown uninterested after those who dragged him into the race could no longer guarantee that he will be made the party’s consensus candidate.

For Emefiele sources said despite procuring a court judgment restraining the CBN and Independent Electoral Commission from barring him from contesting the election, it is believed the boss at the apex bank has since abandoned his presidential aspirations.

Twenty-five out of 29 aspirants who purchased the forms actually beat the deadline for submission.

Those who beat the deadline yesterday include Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President African Development Bank (AfDB), Dr Akinwunmi Adesina; immediate past Minister of Science and Technology, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu and Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Other presidential aspirants whose nomination forms were received at press time were former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio; former Imo State governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha; and former Ogun State governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun.

Others were Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River State governor, Prof. Ben Ayade; his Ebonyi State counterpart, Gov. Dave Umahi; Chairman, Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) and Ekiti State governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi; Minister of State, Education, Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President, Sen. Ken Nnamani; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello; Jigawa State Governor Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and former Zamfara State governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima.

Also on the list of presidential aspirants that filed their papers were Senator Ajayi Borroffice; the only female aspirant, Mrs Uju Kennedy Ohnenye; Pastor Nicholas Felix Nwagbo; former House of Representative Speaker Dimeji Bankole; former Minister of State, Petroleum, Chief Timipre Sylva; former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu; and Mr Tein Jack Rich.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.